Book Review: Transformed by Christy Wimber

unnamedAfter reading Transformed: Challenging Myths About the Power-Filled Life, I feel a bit ambivalent about it. As a pastor who has grown up in the charismatic/Pentecostal tradition, I know firsthand the weak spots of our tradition. Too often, the obstacles that our practices create for faith remain overlooked and ignored. I was hoping Christy Wimber would draw attention and provide insight into these struggles. While she strongly addressed issues such as valuing talent over character, the type of communication in the book demonstrates another missing element in the discipleship structures of many Pentecostal/charismatic churches–intellectual development.

Wimber seems like the kind of person I would love to have coffee with; heck, I’d probably even love going to her church! She seems to exude much wisdom and have a naturally mothering/mentoring presence. This book, however, has many typos, an ambiguous outline, and does not cite necessary sources. Her points–many of which are good!–get lost in lengthy chapters that feel like either many transcripted sermons mashed together or a rambling blog post. This book would have benefited from a strong editor and more time invested into making the writing clear and focused. Thus, I imagine that I would have enjoyed this book when I was a teen without any theological education who had not read much yet. Hence, the source of my ambivalence: at a younger stage in life I may have enjoyed this book, but now it wasn’t really worth my time.

I give this book 3 out of 5 stars because I think it may be helpful for others. Overall, I believe in Wimber as a follower of Christ and respect her leadership. I admire her commitment to the Church and fostering maturity within believers. May God continue to move powerfully within her ministry to transform His people into the image of Christ.

*Note: I received a complimentary copy of this book from Kregel Blog Tours in exchange for my honest review.

 

Leave a Reply

